crochet

Attic24 Sunny CAL

Those of you who know me will know I am a big fan of Lucy from Attic24, and have been for many, many years. Her use of bright, cheerful colours and gorgeous designs have really helped revamp the image of crochet for a new generation. Despite the fact that I have been to all three Yarndales, I have yet to meet the lady herself (though I did spot her coat in the Knit and natter lounge last year, exciting stuff!) Maybe next year.

IMG_0118.jpg

Earlier this year, Lucy introduced a new fabulous colour pack – the Sunny Pack. The beautiful, bold colours won me over instantly and I vowed to add it to my to-do list. While I was still deliberating over the exact form that would do justice to this gorgeous selection, Lucy announced that she was going to host a crochet-along, or CAL, using this pack. She has designed an amazing square design based on American block quilts, and also said she would do a granny stripe mix at the same time. Lucy’s granny stripe is a design I’ve been meaning to try for ages, so it seemed like the perfect combination. My track record with CAL’s is not great – my beautiful Lily Pond lies abandoned upstairs (I will get back to it I promise) but I decided to give it a go.

IMG_0631

I am currently on Week 4, and I cannot believe how much blanket I have made it that time! The colours continue to delight, and  the pattern works up so easily and quickly it hasn’t been difficult to keep up with at all. My two year old has already claimed it as her own, but it is going to live in the sitting room where it will hopefully provide many cosy snuggles this winter. I’ll be sure to give you an update when it’s done!

IMG_1450.jpg

 

Leave a comment