Uncategorized

Laura Ashley, 1987

My mum has always been a fan of Laura Ashley, from when she dreamt of their dresses as a teenager through to decorating our childhood rooms. I have inherited this love – one of the first things I bought for “our house” when I moved in with my husband was a LA red spotty jug, and this brand has continued to make its mark our home throughout the years from peg bags to wallpaper. The next project I will be embarking on is to redecorate my daughters bedroom and, you’ve guessed it, Laura Ashley will feature!

IMG_7145

I discovered this copy of the Laura Ashley catalogue at my mums, it was released in 1987 – the year I was born. While styles have changed, there is still some familiarity. There is also a lot that is very much “of its era” The ruffles, swags, fringes, chintz and vinyl wallpaper! The love of florals remains unchanged, as does the nostaligc nod to earlier periods. Thankfully they have moved away from the frills.

IMG_7168

Fancy seeing what home decorators aspired to in the late 80’s? Come and have a peep!

IMG_7170

 

IMG_7181

IMG_7190

IMG_7206

 

That moment of horror when you spot your hall curtains in there! I chopped them down from a pair of my mums, but I didn’t realise the design was as old as I am.

IMG_7138

IMG_7115

IMG_7176

Mr Jones had the honour of covering our dining chairs when I was growing up. I think it might still be lurking somewhere under newer covers.

IMG_7160

IMG_7166

IMG_7194

My favourite item has to be this delightful occasional table. Just take some chipboard, chuck some pretty flowery fabric over it, and voila! Eighties chic.

IMG_7203

IMG_7207

IMG_7199

And speaking of my next project, it was interesting to compare the cost of the curtains I’ve recently bought from Laura Ashley, with an equivalent size from 1987. Twenty-eight years ago my 162x183cm sound like a bargain to modern ears, at £86. And probably would have had ruffles.

IMG_7212

 

Leave a comment